Residents from 9 US States Will Need Passport to Fly Domestically

Planning any travel next year? Even if your not heading outside of  the United States, residents of nine states with need to flash their  passport at the top of 2018 for any commercial flight. Yes, whether international or domestic.

The Real ID Act of 2005 says state-issued IDs from these nine states fail to meet the minimum security standards of the federal government:

  • Kentucky
  • Maine
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Oklahoma
  • Pennsylvania
  • South Carolina
  • Washington

Residents of these states will no longer be allowed to board a plane  with just a state issued driver’s license as of January 22nd, 2018. To  get past TSA security checkpoints, another form of identification will  be required: passport, permanent resident card / green card or a  military ID.

Source: Forbe